The federal government is working on making the new identity card with electronic proof of identity more attractive. Because the additional function has so far met with little approval from the citizens. Meanwhile, large private companies are offering a serious competition system for identification on the Internet.

 

Hardly known: eID

The electronic proof of identity (eID) has not yet gained acceptance. Experts assume that this is less due to the performance of the system than to the complex certification process - but perhaps also to poor communication. Many citizens do not know eID at all. In addition, identification with the identity card is only possible with a card reader that has to be paid for by the user himself. To make eID more interesting, the federal government presented innovations at CeBIT. With the "AusweisApp2" software, digital administrative procedures should also be made easier with mobile devices. The app for smartphones and tablets (soon also for the iPhone) does not require any additional hardware.

 

German companies press ahead

An alliance of large German companies is working on a completely different master key for the network. The companies Allianz, Deutsche Bank, Axel Springer, Postbank and Daimler are planning a new technology with which people can identify themselves better, more easily and more securely on Internet pages. The system should make it possible for users to use all services of the connected companies in the network at the same time - the identification process is uniform. For many, the master key represents serious competition for the eID in connection with the identity card. This is because it is also intended for online trading or communication with insurance companies.

 

New law to strengthen eID

The federal government is now planning a new law to make the new identity card more attractive. It is planned that the new identity card will have an active eID function from the outset. The regulation is also intended to reduce bureaucratic hurdles and thus simplify the certification process. In a second attempt, the identity card is to become a widely used authentication tool.

Der Bund arbeitet daran, den neuen Personalausweis mit elektronischem Identitätsnachweis attraktiver zu machen. Denn die zusätzliche Funktion stößt bisher bei den Bürgern auf wenig Anklang. Währenddessen warten große Privatunternehmen mit einem ernsthaften Konkurrenzsystem zur Identifikation im Internet auf.

 

Kaum bekannt: eID

Der elektronische Identitätsnachweis (eID) hat sich bisher noch nicht durchgesetzt. Experten gehen davon aus, dass dies weniger an der Leistungsfähigkeit des Systems als am aufwendigen Zertifizierungsprozess liegt – vielleicht aber auch an der mangelhaften Kommunikation. Viele Bürger kennen eID überhaupt nicht. Dazu kommt, dass die Identifikation mit dem Personalausweis nur mit einem Kartenlesegerät möglich ist, das vom Anwender selbst bezahlt werden muss. Um eID interessanter zu machen, hat der Bund auf der CeBIT Neuerungen vorgestellt. Mit der Software „AusweisApp2” sollen digitale Behördengänge auch mit mobilen Geräten einfacher werden. Die App für Smartphones und Tablets (demnächst auch für das iPhone) kommt ohne zusätzliche Hardware aus.

 

Deutsche Unternehmen preschen voran

Eine Allianz aus großen deutschen Unternehmen arbeitet an einem ganz anderen Generalschlüssel für das Netz. Die Konzerne Allianz, Deutsche Bank, Axel Springer, Postbank und Daimler planen eine neue Technologie, mit der sich Menschen besser, einfacher und sicherer auf Internetseiten ausweisen können. Das System soll es ermöglichen, dass die Nutzer gleichzeitig alle Dienste der angeschlossenen Unternehmen im Netz nutzen können – die Identifikation läuft dabei einheitlich ab. Der Generalschlüssel stellt für viele eine ernsthafte Konkurrenz für das eID im Zusammenhang mit dem Personalausweis dar. Denn dieses ist auch für den Online-Handel oder die Kommunikation mit Versicherungen vorgesehen.

 

Neues Gesetz soll eID stärken

Der Bund plant jetzt ein neues Gesetz, um den neuen Personalausweis attraktiver zu machen. Darin ist geplant, dass der neue Personalausweis von vornherein über eine aktive eID-Funktion verfügt. Die Regelung soll zudem bürokratische Hürden abbauen und damit den Zertifizierungsprozess vereinfachen. So soll der Personalausweis in einem zweiten Anlauf zum allgemein verbreiteten Authentifizierungsinstrument werden.