The digitization of the German administration is a done deal. It is clear that political leadership over the creation of digital structures and services in public authorities and town halls is lacking. The coalition partners CDU/CSU and SPD, for once and for all, agree, so let's get down to business, because the burden of bureaucracy seems to float over the heads of those responsible without the necessary electronic administration like the Damocles sword.

 

Snow White and Sleeping Germany

In the past, you might have wanted to, but for whatever reason, you couldn't. Estonia and Denmark have taken full advantage of the snow-white sleep of the Germans and are far ahead with digital services for their citizens. Austrians, Swiss and Dutch can also choose from the wide range of digital municipal services. Only with us the worm is still inside with a few exceptions. The German government has stipulated that the most important of the 500 services offered by German offices should be in the digital starting blocks by 2022. Citizens' portals for citizens and businesses should now direct it and catapult the municipalities from the back midfield to the very top of the European digitisation rankings.

 

Hamburg storms forward

"Digital First" is the name of the Hamburg platform, which already offers dozens of services for Hamburg citizens. Some of them are local resident certificates as well as urban land-use planning, business announcements and aircraft noise complaints, the flagpole of possibilities is far from being reached. Digital First extends what is already available and offers a service account, a P.O. box and a payment function. It is also possible to connect to other IT systems via Digital First. In the future, you may not be able to go to the residents' registration office or the vehicle registration office. Identity cards can be applied for, relocations can be reported, a police clearance certificate can be requested or birthday and death notifications can be made.

 

Stuttgart in the fast lane

Stuttgart is one of the exceptional cities in Germany. The city is currently undergoing a massive changeover from paper and visitor traffic to digital services. Simplifying is the magic word and all administrative procedures should soon be a thing of the past. The time of writing letters is over, everything should be possible from the home chair. Keywords such as citizen portal, user account for private individuals and companies as well as the transfer of data from authority to authority, with the consent of the person concerned, suggest intelligent, cross-agency networking. In the end, this saves time and money and creates real added value for the citizen. "The city's new website, stuttgart.de, is scheduled for completion in 2019," reports administrative mayor Fabian Mayer. All offices and departments are included in the concept. In addition, the company's own operations and staff representatives will also play a role. The goal is to increase service quality through e-government.

Following the motto of Mr. Hoppenstedt, Minister of State in the Chancellery, procedures, forms and proofs must be simplified. The coordinator for bureaucracy reduction believes that this would create the digital first-aider for administration from the already positively evaluated administrative apparatus. Jealous squinting at neighbouring European countries would then be eliminated and Germany would also be where it belongs in e-government: at the top of Europe.

 

"Digital communities of the future" and Co.

"Improving quality of life through digital services" is the criterion by which the CDU Minister of the Interior, Thomas Strobl, measures the digital communities of the future. Karlsruhe has landed at the very top with the so-called citizen app and was awarded together with Ludwigsburg, Ulm and Heidelberg. The app informs about the urban life of the Baden metropolis. The Ludwigsburger administration goes the way of the citizen account, which is used as a digital interface to all services. Ulm is in the process of digitally networking two residential districts and has received a great deal of applause for this. In Heidelberg in the Palatinate region of Germany, the administration is pragmatically approaching digital benefits. The administration collects traffic data via a citizen portal and can transport gritting vehicles to potentially icy danger points in frosty winter weather. In summary, all the municipalities mentioned contribute with creative proposals to improved digital usage concepts.

 

Germany is just waking up

It's only a matter of time before the German slow train becomes a high-speed train. A current study by the EU Commission puts Germany in 20th place out of 28 in terms of digital administration. Compared to other EU countries, there are still major deficits in digitization. However, the race for electronic service diversity has long since begun in Germany. According to its own understanding, Hamburg plays a pioneering role and the ideas of Baden-Württemberg's cities also invite imitation. Hamburg will be launching its "Digital First" platform in the autumn. Other municipalities will follow in giant steps. In terms of German efficiency and the ambition to bring the administration to the top of the European digital service providers, the lead of Austria, Switzerland, Denmark and the Netherlands is likely to have melted quickly. Time is running out and things can only get better for Germany.

Die Digitalisierung der deutschen Verwaltung ist beschlossene Sache. Ganz eindeutig lässt sich die politische Führung über die Schaffung von digitalen Strukturen und Diensten in Behörden und Rathäusern aus. Die Koalitionspartner Union und SPD sind sich ausnahmsweise einmal einig, also nichts wie ran an das Thema, denn die Last der Bürokratie scheint ohne die benötigte elektronische Verwaltung wie das Damokles-Schwert über den Köpfen der Verantwortlichen zu schweben.

 

Schneewittchen und das schlafende Deutschland

In der Vergangenheit wollte man wohl, konnte aber, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, nicht so richtig. Estland und Dänemark haben den Schneewittchenschlaf der Deutschen ausgiebig ausgenutzt und sind mit digitalen Dienstleistungen für deren Bürger weit voraus. Österreicher, Schweizer und Niederländer können ebenso aus dem vielfältigen Strauß der digitalen kommunalen Dienstleistungen auswählen. Nur bei uns ist bis auf einige wenige Ausnahmen noch der Wurm drin. Dabei hat die deutsche Bundesregierung festgelegt, dass die wichtigsten der 500 Dienstleistungen deutscher Ämter bis 2022 in digitalen Startlöchern stehen sollen. Bürgerportale für Bürger und Unternehmen sollen es nun richten und die Kommunen vom hinteren Mittelfeld ganz nach vorne in der europäischen Digitalisierungsrangliste katapultieren.

 

Hamburg stürmt nach vorne

„Digital First“ ist der Name der Hamburger Plattform, die schon jetzt Dutzende Dienstleistungen für Hamburger Bürger anbietet. Einige davon sind Anliegerbescheinigungen sowie Bauleitplanungen, Gewerbeanzeigen und Fluglärmbeschwerden, die Fahnenstange der Möglichkeiten ist noch lange nicht erreicht. Digital First erweitert das Vorhandene und bringt neben einem Servicekonto ein Postfach und eine Bezahlfunktion. Außerdem ist es möglich, sich über Digital First mit anderen IT-Systemen zu verbinden. Zukünftig kann der Gang zum Einwohnermeldeamt oder zur Kfz-Zulassungsstelle ausfallen. Ausweise können beantragt, Umzüge gemeldet, ein polizeiliche Führungszeugnisse angefordert oder Geburtstags- und Todesfallmeldungen abgesetzt werden.

 

Stuttgart auf der Überholspur

Stuttgart ist eine der Ausnahmestädte in Deutschland. Die Stadt befindet sich momentan in der massiven Umstellungsphase von Papier und Besuchsverkehr hin zum digitalen Serviceangebot. Vereinfachen ist das Zauberwort und jeglicher Behördengang soll bald der Vergangenheit angehören. Vorbei ist die Zeit des Briefeschreibens, alles soll aus dem heimischen Sessel durchführbar sein. Schlagworte wie Bürgerportal, Nutzerkonto für Privatpersonen und Unternehmen sowie die Datenweitergabe von Behörde zu Behörde, mit Zustimmung des Betroffenen, lassen auf intelligente, behördenübergreifende Vernetzung schließen. Das spart am Ende Zeit und Geld und schafft für den Bürger einen wirklichen Mehrwert. „Die neue Webseite der Stadt, stuttgart.de, sei 2019 fertiggestellt“, berichtet Verwaltungsbürgermeister Fabian Mayer. Alle Ämter und Abteilungen sind im Konzept inbegriffen. Darüber hinaus sollen auch Eigenbetriebe und Personalvertretungen eine Rolle spielen. Ziel ist, die Servicequalität durch E-Government zu erhöhen.

Dem Motto von Herrn Hoppenstedt, seines Zeichens Staatsminister im Kanzleramt, folgend, müssen Verfahren, Formulare und Nachweise vereinfacht werden. Der Koordinator für Bürokratieabbau glaubt, dies würde aus dem eh schon positiv bewerteten Verwaltungsapparat den digitalen Ersthelfer in Sachen Verwaltung kreieren. Neidischem Schielen auf europäische Nachbarländer wäre dann der Garaus gemacht und Deutschland stünde auch im E-Government da, wo es hingehört: an der Spitze Europas.

 

„Digitale Zukunftskommunen“ und Co.

„Lebensqualität über digitale Dienste zu verbessern“ ist das Kriterium, an dem der Innenminister der CDU, Thomas Strobl, die digitalen Zukunftskommunen misst. Karlsruhe ist dabei mit der sogenannten Bürger-App ganz weit vorne gelandet und wurde zusammen mit Ludwigsburg, Ulm und Heidelberg ausgezeichnet. Die App informiert rund um das städtische Leben der Baden-Metropole. Die Ludwigsburger Verwaltung geht den Weg des Bürgerkontos, welches als digitale Schnittstelle zu allen Dienstleistungen herangezogen wird. Ulm ist dabei, gleich zwei Wohnviertel digital zu vernetzen und hat dafür großen Beifall geerntet. Im kurpfälzischen Heidelberg geht die Verwaltung pragmatisch an digitalen Nutzen heran. Die Verwaltung sammelt über ein Bürgerportal Verkehrsdaten und kann bei frostigem Winterwetter Streufahrzeuge an potenziell vereiste Gefahrenstellen bringen. Zusammenfassend gilt, dass alle genannten Kommunen mit kreativen Vorschlägen zu verbesserten digitalen Nutzungskonzepten beitragen.

 

Deutschland wacht gerade auf

Es ist nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis aus dem deutschen Bummelzug ein Highspeed-Zug wird. Eine vorliegende Studie der EU-Kommission setzt Deutschland bezüglich der digitalen Verwaltung noch auf Platz 20 von 28. Im Vergleich mit anderen EU-Ländern sind also noch große Defizite in der Digitalisierung zu verzeichnen. Das Wettrennen um die elektronische Servicevielfalt hat in Deutschland aber längst begonnen. Hamburg nimmt nach eigenem Verständnis eine Vorreiterrolle ein und auch die Ideen der baden-württembergischen Städte laden zur Nachahmung ein. Hamburg gibt schon im Herbst den Startschuss mit der Plattform „Digital First“. Andere Kommunen werden in Riesenschritten nachziehen. Bei der deutschen Effizienz und dem Ehrgeiz, die Verwaltung an die Spitze der europäischen digitalen Dienstleister zu bringen, dürfte der Vorsprung von Österreich, der Schweiz, Dänemark und den Niederlanden schnell geschmolzen sein. Die Zeit läuft und es kann für Deutschland nur besser werden.