A strong IT for a strong track

Everyone is talking about climate protection. The railway is part of the solution. More trains, more infrastructure and strong IT are needed to double the number of passengers to their destinations by 2030. IT is becoming a trailblazer for new rail services - with data lakes, block chains and self-organization.

Christa Koenen worked in various companies after completing her studies in economics and at the same time earned her MBA in business administration. She has been with Deutsche Bahn since 2004 and Chairman of the Management Board of DB Systel, DB's IT service provider, since 2015. She has also been CIO of the DB Group since 2018.

  • Key Takeaways Due to technical developments and climate change, the mobility industry has become
    in motion. The railways are gaining in importance and, from DB's point of view, should become the "backbone of mobility".
  • The capacity of the railway is to be increased by 30 percent in the coming years. Infrastructure development alone will not be enough to achieve this goal. IT must also make a contribution.
  • The challenge is to become faster and more flexible despite the grown structures within Deutsche Bahn.
  • In order to meet this challenge, the railway is working technologically on a cloud migration and on the integration of new systems into the legacy. In addition, there are many important approaches in areas such as robotics, VR and blockchain.
  • However, the technical problems are comparatively easy to solve. More difficult is the reconstruction of the classical hierarchical structures, which are unsuitable for digital transformation, towards more self-organization.
  • DB Systel is already on the right track. About 3,400 of 4,500 employees are already integrated into self-organized teams.

 

Full lecture in live recording

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
Learn more

Download video

Eine starke IT für eine starke Schiene

Alle reden über Klimaschutz. Die Bahn ist Teil der Lösung. Damit sie bis 2030 doppelt so viele Fahrgäste ans Ziel bringen kann, braucht es mehr Züge, mehr Infrastruktur und eine starke IT. Die IT wird zum Wegbereiter für neue Angebote auf der Schiene – mit Data Lakes, Blockchain und Selbstorganisation.

Christa Koenen arbeitete nach ihrem VWL-Studium in verschiedenen Unternehmen und erwarb parallel ihren MBA in BWL. Sie ist seit 2004 bei der Deutschen Bahn und seit 2015 Vorsitzende der Geschäftsführung bei DB Systel, dem IT-Dienstleister der DB. Seit 2018 ist sie zusätzlich CIO des DB-Konzerns.

  • Key Takeaways   Die Mobilitätsbranche ist aufgrund technischer Entwicklungen und des Klimawandels
    in Bewegung. Die Bahn gewinnt dabei an Bedeutung und soll aus Sicht der DB zum „Rückgrat der Mobilität“ werden.
  • Die Kapazität der Bahn soll in den kommenden Jahren um 30 Prozent erhöht werden. Ein Infrastrukturausbau allein wird nicht ausreichen, um dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Auch die IT muss einen Beitrag leisten.
  • Die Herausforderung besteht darin, trotz der gewachsenen Strukturen innerhalb der Deutschen Bahn schneller und flexibler zu werden.
  • Um diese Herausforderung zu bestehen, arbeitet die Bahn technologisch an einer Cloudmigration sowie an der Integration neuer Systeme in die Legacy. Hinzu kommen viele wichtige Ansätze in Bereichen wie Robotik, VR und Blockchain.
  • Die technischen Fragestellungen sind jedoch vergleichsweise einfach zu lösen. Schwieriger ist der Umbau der klassischen hierarchischen Strukturen, die für die digitale Transformation ungeeignet sind, hin zu mehr Selbstorganisation.
  • DB Systel ist bereits auf einem guten Weg. Etwa 3.400 von 4.500 Mitarbeitern sind bereits in selbstorganisierte Teams integriert.

 

Ganzer Vortrag im Live-Mitschnitt