"Inspire, guide, transparent, simple, safe, everywhere."

Cruises are booming. In 2017, more than 2.7 million Germans booked a cruise and spent almost 4 billion euros on it. But around three quarters of all Germans still do this offline - but the market and sales are becoming digital. More and more young, digitally affine holidaymakers want to go on a cruise. This presentation shows the opportunities and risks of the "digital" ship world and explains why digital cruising will still be a major challenge in 2018 with the help of a few anecdotes.

David Mertin, Business Leader Cruises with HolidayCheck AG is a digital expert with a great passion for innovation and new business fields. He has more than 10 years of professional experience in various digital companies and industries: from music, streaming, film, TV and publishing to tourism.

Key Takeaways "Ship ahoy! Digitisation in the cruise industry"

  • The cruise market has grown by 200% since 2004 and is currently experiencing an enormous rejuvenation. Only 25% of holidaymakers currently book their trip online.
  • The cruise is an optimal digital product, because in the end you need above all an overview and comparability, the best possible visual impression of the ship as well as evaluations and advice.
  • What the portals lack most at the moment is holiday friendliness. They have only transported the catalogue world onto the Internet and are not using the possibilities of digitisation.
  • HolidayCheck wants to accompany the cruise customer throughout his entire customer journey and develop the offer above all from the customer's point of view, above all to be transparent and simple.
  • The fast profit is waived and value is placed on the long-term satisfied customer, so that he books again with HolidayCheck.
  • The problem is that a large part of the required data is not available in digital form and must first be laboriously assembled and digitized.

„Inspirieren, guide, transparent, einfach, sicher, überall.“

Kreuzfahrten boomen. In 2017 haben über 2,7 Mio. Deutsche eine Kreuzfahrt gebucht und gaben dabei fast 4 Mrd. Euro aus. Aber rund drei Viertel aller Deutschen tun dies noch offline – doch der Markt und auch der Vertrieb digitalisieren sich. Immer mehr junge, digital affine Urlauber möchten auf Kreuzfahrt gehen. Dieser Vortrag zeigt die Chancen und Risiken der „digitalen“ Schiffswelt und erklärt anhand einiger Anekdoten, warum die digitale Kreuzfahrt auch im Jahr 2018 noch eine große Herausforderung ist.

David Mertin, Business Leader Cruises  bei HolidayCheck AG ist Digitalexperte mit großer Leidenschaft für Innovationen und neue Geschäftsfelder. Er besitzt mehr als 10 Jahre Berufserfahrung in verschiedenen Digital-Unternehmen und Branchen: von Musik, Streaming, Film, TV und Publishing bis hin zu Touristik.

Key Takeaways „Schiff ahoi! Digitalisierung in der Kreuzfahrtindustrie“

  • Der Kreuzfahrtmarkt ist seit 2004 um 200% gewachsen und verjüngt sich derzeit enorm. Nur 25% der Urlauber buchen ihre Reise derzeit online.
  • Die Kreuzfahrt ist ein optimales Digitalprodukt, weil man letztlich vor allem den überblick und die Vergleichbarkeit, den bestmöglichen optischen Eindruck vom Schiff sowie die Bewertungen und die Beratung benötigt.
  • Was den Portalen derzeit vor allem fehlt ist die Urlauberfreundlichkeit. Sie haben nur die Katalogwelt ins Internet transportiert und nutzen nicht die Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung.
  • HolidayCheck möchte den Kreuzfahrtkunden bei seiner gesamten Customer Journey begleiten und das Angebot vor allem aus der Sicht des Kunden entwickeln, vor allem transparent und einfach sein.
  • Es wird auf den schnellen Gewinn verzichtet und Wert auf den langfristig zufriedenen Kunden gelegt, damit dieser wieder bei HolidayCheck bucht.
  • Problematisch ist, dass ein Großteil der benötigten Daten gar nicht digital vorhanden ist und erst mühevoll zusammengefügt und digitalisiert werden muss.