"The public transport is sexy!"

Autonomous driving, electric pedal scooters, autonomous trains, electric buses and all that in Hamburg! What is actually happening in public transport in the city of Hamburg under the motto "Hamburg Takt" and how is the Hamburger Hochbahn meeting the challenge of mobility change? The turnaround in mobility begins in people's minds.

 

The business economist has been working in the mobility industry for more than 10 years in various positions at Transdev, Deutsche Bahn and TUI in marketing and production. Before that, she gained insights at Serviceplan (advertising agency) and debitel (mobile radio).

 

Key Takeaways "Public transport is sexy!"

  • Climate change has changed public transport attitudes. More and more people are questioning their mobility.
  • CEO Henrik Falk has issued the credo: "Rethink public transport". All that reduces individualised, motorised traffic is public transport. Accordingly, public transport services are to be increased by 50 % over the next 10 years.
    percent can be increased.
  • From Oehlrich's point of view, lower ticket prices are not a practicable approach for public transport because it takes money out of the system. Instead, public transport providers should focus on creating attractive offers.
  • Hamburger Hochbahn is therefore trying to broaden public transport thinking. This also includes micromobility such as electric pedal scooters, autonomous driving, car and ride sharing as well as mobility hubs where you can easily switch between the various offers.
  • But also within the elevated railway a cultural change is necessary in the direction of digitization and customer centricity. Innovation was also a weakness for a long time.
  • For example, a management workshop took place in 2017. One idea that arose was the traffic light, which was supposed to indicate free seats for passengers on the platform. This idea was elaborated with agile methods, but
    not accepted by the customer. It is therefore an example of the rule "fail almost" - after all, even falling on the muzzle is a form of forward motion.
  • Why is the Hochbahn still working on this cultural change?
    • Change in the mindset (breaking up departmental thinking, interdisciplinary teams, new sense of togetherness)
    • Customer and innovation (customer-centric thinking, promotion of innovations, promotion of ideas)
    • Organization (new ways of working and methods, quick result orientation, self-organization)

 

Full lecture in live recording

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
Learn more

Download video

„Der ÖPNV ist doch sexy!“

Autonomes Fahren, E-Tretroller, autonome Züge, Elektrobusse und das alles in Hamburg! Was passiert eigentlich gerade im ÖPNV in der Stadt Hamburg unter dem Motto „Hamburg Takt“ und wie stellt sich die Hamburger Hochbahn der Herausforderung Mobilitätswende? Die Mobilitätswende fängt in den Köpfen an.

 

Die studierte Betriebswirtin ist seit mehr als 10 Jahren in der Mobilitätsbranche in verschiedenen Positionen bei der Transdev, Deutschen Bahn und TUI im Bereich Marketing und Produktion tätig. Davor konnte sie Einblicke bei Serviceplan (Werbeagentur) und debitel (Mobilfunk) gewinnen.

 

Key Takeaways „Der ÖPNV ist doch sexy!“

  • Der Klimawandel hat die Haltung zum ÖPNV verändert. Immer mehr Menschen hinterfragen ihre Mobilität.
  • CEO Henrik Falk hat das Credo ausgegeben: „Denkt den ÖPNV neu!“ Alles, was den individualisierten, motorisierten Verkehr reduziert, ist ÖPNV. Entsprechend soll das Angebot des ÖPNV in den nächsten 10 Jahren um 50
    Prozent erhöht werden.
  • Niedrigere Ticketpreise sind aus Oehlrichs Sicht keine praktikable Herangehensweise für den ÖPNV, weil er Geld aus dem System nimmt. Stattdessen sollten sich ÖPNV-Anbieter darauf fokussieren, attraktive Angebote zu schaffen.
  • Die Hamburger Hochbahn versucht daher, den ÖPNV breiter zu denken. Das inkludiert auch Mikromobilität wie z.B. E-Tretroller, autonomes Fahren, Car- und Ridesharing sowie Mobilitätshubs, an denen problemlos zwischen den verschiedenen Angeboten gewechselt werden kann.
  • Aber auch innerhalb der Hochbahn ist ein Kulturwandel notwendig in Richtung Digitalisierung und Kundenzentrierung. Auch Innovation war lange Zeit eine Schwäche.
  • So fand bspw. 2017 ein Führungskräfteworkshop statt. Eine Idee, die dabei entstand, war die Platzampel, die Fahrgästen am Bahnsteig freie Sitzplätze anzeigen sollte. Diese Idee wurde mit agilen Methoden ausgearbeitet, aber
    vom Kunden nicht angenommen. Sie ist daher ein Beispiel für die Regel „Fail fast“ – schließlich ist auch auf die Schnauze fallen eine Form der Vorwärtsbewegung.
  • Warum arbeitet die Hochbahn dennoch weiter an diesem Kulturwandel?
    • Change im Mindset (Aufbrechen des Ressortdenkens, interdisziplinäre Teams, neues Wir-Gefühl)
    • Kunde und Innovation (Kundenzentriertes Denken, Förderung von Innovationen, Vorantreiben von Ideen)
    • Organisation (Neue Arbeitsweisen und Methoden, schnelle Ergebnisorientierung, Selbstorganisation)

 

Ganzer Vortrag im Live-Mitschnitt