Marc Ramelow, managing partner of the fashion house Ramelow, and Martin Brücher, managing director of FASHION CLOUD, a content platform for the fashion trade, presented in a joint talk at solutions.hamburg how established companies can keep up with the speed of digital change without having to deny their traditions.

Ramelow's investment in the start-up has resulted in an extremely fruitful cooperation for both sides. While Ramelow FASHION CLOUD not only provides valuable contacts in the fashion industry, but also an experimental field for new applications within its stores, the retailer benefits from innovative ideas such as the App Clara. This gives the sales staff the opportunity to order the products desired by the customer but not available in the store from the supplier with just a few clicks. In this way, over 1,000 orders had already been placed within five months and customer satisfaction had increased. The cooperation between Ramelow and FASHION CLOUD is therefore a good example of the functioning interfaces between tech start-ups and classic retail.

"The investment is like consulting money. I could have hired a digital guru for a six-figure sum. Then I probably would have gotten hundreds of power point charts. Whether I would have been more successful with it, I question to this day strongly. That's why we're doing it differently. We invest the money in different concepts and learn from these concepts." (Marc Ramelow)

key takeaways

Marc Ramelow, managing director of the fashion house Ramelow, invested in Martin Brücher's startup FASHION CLOUD two years ago.

Since then, the cooperation has paid off for both sides:

  • FASHION CLOUD uses Marc Ramelow's industry expertise and network on the one hand and the branches for product validation in new developments on the other.
  • Ramelow invests in innovative concepts such as FASHION CLOUD and draws lessons for his own company. In his opinion, this makes more sense than investing in management consultants.
  • A concrete example of this cooperation is the new Clara app, which can order goods not available in the store but requested by the customer directly from the supplier.
  • FASHION CLOUD was already able to test the app during development in Ramelow stores and optimize it according to experience.
  • Ramelow was able to place more than 1,000 orders via the app within five months, increasing customer satisfaction.

Eine Möglichkeit, wie etablierte Unternehmen mit der Geschwindigkeit des digitalen Wandels mithalten können, ohne ihre Traditionen verleugnen zu müssen, stellten Marc Ramelow, geschäftsführender Gesellschafter des Modehauses Ramelow, und Martin Brücher, Geschäftsführer von FASHION CLOUD, einer Content-Plattform für den Modehandel, in einem gemeinsamen Talk auf der solutions.hamburg vor.

Mit dem Investment Ramelows in das Start-up habe sich eine überaus fruchtbare Kooperation für beide Seiten ergeben. Während Ramelow FASHION CLOUD nicht nur wertvolle Kontakte in die Modebranche, sondern innerhalb seiner Häuser auch ein Experimentierfeld für neue Anwendungen liefert, profitiert der Einzelhändler von innovativen Ideen wie der App Clara. Diese gibt dem Verkaufspersonal die Möglichkeit, vom Kunden gewünschte, aber nicht im Laden vorhandene Produkte mit wenigen Klicks beim Lieferanten zu bestellen. Auf diese Weise seien innerhalb von fünf Monaten bereits über 1.000 Bestellungen getätigt und die Kundenzufriedenheit erhöht worden. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ramelow und FASHION CLOUD sei daher ein gutes Beispiel für die funktionierenden Schnittstellen zwischen Tech-Start-up und klassischem Einzelhandel.

„Das Investment ist wie Beratungsgeld. Ich hätte auch für einen sechsstelligen Betrag einen Digitalguru anheuern können. Dann hätte ich wahrscheinlich hunderte Power-Point-Charts bekommen. Ob ich damit erfolgreicher gewesen wäre, stelle ich bis heute stark in Frage. Daher machen wir es anders. Wir investieren das Geld in verschiedene Konzepte und lernen aus diesen Konzepten.“ (Marc Ramelow)

Key Takeaways

Marc Ramelow, Geschäftsführer des Modehauses Ramelow, hat vor zwei Jahren in Martin Brüchers Startup FASHION CLOUD investiert.

Die Kooperation lohnt sich seitdem für beide Seiten:

  • FASHION CLOUD nutzt zum einen die Branchenexpertise sowie das Netzwerk von Marc Ramelow und zum anderen die Filialen zur Produktvalidierung bei Neuentwicklungen.
  • Ramelow investiert in innovative Konzepte wie FASHION CLOUD und zieht daraus Learnings für sein eigenes Unternehmen. Dies ist aus seiner Sicht sinnvoller, als diese Investition in Unternehmensberater zu stecken.
  • Ein konkretes Beispiel der Zusammenarbeit ist die neue App Clara, die in der Filiale nicht vorhandene, aber vom Kunden gewünschte Ware direkt beim Lieferanten ordern kann.
  • FASHION CLOUD konnte die App bereits während der Entwicklung in Ramelow-Geschäften testen und entsprechend der Erfahrungen optimieren.
  • Ramelow konnte innerhalb von fünf Monaten über 1.000 Bestellungen über die App tätigen und auf diese Weise die Kundenzufriedenheit steigern.